

News Release

2016 IOWA FFA EXPERIENCE THE ACTION CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

88th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Experience the Action Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 18, 2016. Twelve Chapters participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place chapter for the event was the North Linn FFA Chapter at Troy Mills. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Tom Murray. The second place chapter for the event was the Wapsie Valley FFA Chapter at Fairbank. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Ms. Ellen Doese.

Team members developed enthusiastic presentations that marketed Agricultural Education and FFA. This program serves to inform and educate the general public regarding the benefits and activities of Ag Ed/FFA programs. The Experience the Action CDE was made possible with support from U.S. Army ROTC through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Experience the Action CDE are listed below.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 226 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Trevor Cherry, Veronica Jons, Rachel Zumbach, Evan Boss, and Jacqueline Falconer	Troy Mills	Gold
2	Jacob Hammitt, Annette Kleitsch, Lakin Joerger, Todd Miller, Dayten Wittenburg, and Ben Schmitz	Fairbank	Gold
3	Mikayla Heckman, Kyleigh Becker, Elyse Buysse, Vanessa DeBock, Ella Hambright, and Simon Stecker	West Liberty	Gold
	Micah Lantz, Wyatt Kruse, Brooklin McKinney, Shiloh Meyer, and Cody Schumacher	Lake City	Gold
	Brandon Childs, Jacob Greenzweig, McKenzie White, Tanner	Charles City	Silver

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Peterson, Drew Mitchell, and Isabelle Worall		
Dawson Schmitt, Ashton Lamborn, Marissa Fuerstenberg, Caleb Lines, and Caleb Winters	Nashua	Silver
Carli Grau, Kate Imming, Tiffany Foley, Jacob Carlson, Kayla Werneburg, and Brett Wells	Newell	Silver
Kayla Langstraat, Lydia Dingeman, Alexa Dingeman, Gabriel Thomas, and Brendan Davidson	Pella	Silver
Sidney Nelsen, Ashley Lees, Blaine Lees, Preslyn Grobe, and Logan Hoepner	Avoca	Bronze
Kendall Petersen, Zane Petersen, Travis Petersen, John Schultes, Nelson Zach, and Morgan Rasmussen	Elk Horn	Bronze
Blake Slings, Zach Fleming, Adam Cheney, Michael Cheney, Brett Pope, and Brianna Lewis	Montezuma	Bronze
Jonathon Lawton, Grace Dethrow, and Ross Hull	Newton	Bronze